Contact: +61 (7) 4946 4680 | 0421 735 422 |

Immigration and visas to Australia

Visas – Basic Information

Each and every person that travels into Australia must have a visa.

Migrating to Australia is a tricky process as Australia has more than 140 different types of visas, each with a different set of requirements for eligibility. And if you don’t know exactly what the requirements are and how to meet them, your application won’t be successful and your visa can be rejected as invalid or can be refused. You also may lose a lot of money, as the Immigration Department do not refund fees for refused applications.

In our 10 years of experience we have dealt with all visa categories, and it is our duty to advise you on what visa category is the most suitable and beneficial, what conditions you can expect and what your chances of success are.

A registered Migration Agent is approved by the Department of Immigration, who is a trained professional with access to the latest legislation and policies used by the case officers who asses your application. In Australia, only Registered Migration Agents are allowed to provide immigration advice and assistance, including help lodging visa applications.  A Migration Agent is required to follow the Immigration Code of Conduct and are allowed to communicate with Immigration Department on your behalf.

Australian Visas Overview

1. Employer nominated visas – This is for skilled people, with good qualifications, often work experience, good English skills who have an Australian employer. These visas can be permanent or temporary and can be in regional Australia or big cities. In recent years there have been many changes made to these type of visas, as they are the biggest part of Australia visa options. Temporary sponsored visa, it is infamous 457 visa. The permanent visa for regional Australia is the 187, RSMS visa and in big cities, the similar version is 186, known as ENS.

2. Skilled Independent visas – Are for people with very specific qualifications in very specific occupations. The visas do not require an Australian Sponsor however you have to apply for the visa and have to be chosen from a huge pool of applications by region, state or employer, based on unique skills or qualifications. This is very attractive but a very hard visa to get. This visa is in 3 stages starting with qualification recognition, Expression of Interest hopefully concluded with the invitation and finally the actual visa application.

3. Family Visa – Available for Spouse / Partners/ Children or Parents. The most important part of these type of visas is to apply for right category based on details of relationship which is the tricky part. Partner / Spouse visa can be applied in 2 or 3 stages depending on the type of relationship. Each visa has very specific requirements which has to be met at the time of application or at the time of decision. Only in very rare situations, applicants can be granted permanent residency at the first stage. Usually after the grant of the first stage, the applicant must wait 2 years to apply for permanent visa if the relationship is ongoing.

4. Student visa – Available for people from any country, at any age. Everybody can study in Australia. It is important what & where you study, and how to meet visa requirements based on your country of origin. There are 4 Assessment levels and each country is categorized into one of these levels.

5. Tourist Visa, Sponsored Tourist Visa and ETA – Depending on your country of origin and your previous visa history, meaning it can be very easy or very difficult. Tourist visas in general allow you to travel to Australia, stay in Australia for some certain period of time. In most cases you will not have a right to work or study for longer than 3 months. You should have your own travel insurance, just in case. Depending on other visa conditions you may able to extend your stay, apply from Australia for other type of visa or you will have restrictions on further applications, so called ”no further stay”.

6. Working Holiday Visa– Young, unmarried people can apply for the working holiday visa (417) or work and holiday (462) visa. This gives them right to stay and work in Australia for one year, which can be extended for 2 years after meeting certain criteria.

What we can do for you?

      Assessing your eligibility and chances of success for visa application you aim or advise on other visa options.
      Provide advice regarding Australian migration law and visa requirements. Up to date, professional but presented in easy and helpful way.
      Manage your Skills Recognition or Recognition of Prior Learning if required. This way your skills and formal qualifications meet Australian standards and requirements
      Assist employers with documentation including employment contracts, financial documents etc
      Providing library of documents to choose from. Without extra fees, applicants and employer has access to high quality, well prepared visa documents which are done to meet Immigration requirements.
      Lodge a visa application via online or paper based version deepens on legal requirments.
      Manage your bridging visa and travel and work arrangements, medical examination, police clearance .
      Stay in contact with immigration department and respond when required.
      Follow up with DIBP  when required, monitoring time, deadlines and applicable to your case changes.

Contact us | Related Articles